15th August 2018


What are the 6 states of Australia?

Upon Federation, the six colonies of New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, and Tasmania became the founding states of the new Commonwealth of Australia.

Moreover, which state of Australia has the least population?

The Five Most Populous States in Australia
  • South Australia. South Australia is the most fifth populous state in Australia, accounting for about 7% of the country's population.
  • Western Australia.
  • Queensland.
  • Victoria.
  • New South Wales.

What is the least populated state in Australia?

More than a third of Australians live in New South Wales, and Sydney is the nation's largest city. Victoria is the smallest of the mainland states in size but the second most populated. Melbourne is the capital and is Australia's second most populated city.

Which is the smallest Australian state?

Tasmania (TAS) is separated from mainland Australia by the Bass Strait and is the smallest state in Australia. The capital, Hobart, was founded in 1804 as a penal colony, and is Australia's second oldest capital city after Sydney.