28th November 2019


What are the names of the six food groups?

Like the food pyramid, the plate contains six major food groups: fruits, vegetables, protein, dairy, grains and oils.
  • Fruits. The fruit group includes any whole fruit or 100 percent fruit juice.
  • Vegetables. The vegetable group includes any whole vegetables or 100 percent vegetable juice.
  • Protein.
  • Dairy.
  • Grains.
  • Oils.

Then, what are the five main food groups?

A balanced diet is made up of the five food groups.
  • 1 Carbohydrates. This group contains starchy foods such as pasta, rice, oats, potatoes, noodles, yam, green bananas, sweet potato, millet, couscous, breads, breakfasts cereals, barley and rye.
  • 2 Protein.
  • 3 Milk and dairy products.
  • 4 Fruit and vegetables.
  • 5 Fats and sugars.

What are the basic food groups?

The basic food groups are:
  • breads, cereals, rice, pasta, noodles and other grains.
  • vegetables and legumes.
  • fruit.
  • milk, yoghurt, cheese and/or alternatives.
  • lean meat, fish, poultry, eggs, nuts and legumes.